Crop King Seeds Reviews – Gelato Part 4


August 2019


Here is a short recap on the previous three installments of this grow journal strain review:

Part 1 – We went through ordering from Crop King Seeds on June 12, 2019, receiving our order June 14 along with many free gifts, the Promo Code you can use (posted again later in this article), up until germination.

Part 2June 21 to June 30, 2019. We introduced nutrients and wrote every nute update. The outdoor soil plant being grown by a friend was started (#5) and our indoor four were transplanted to their own buckets with Hydroton instead of rockwool (The aero system had a problem that would have taken too long to fix and test).

Part 3 July 1 to July 30, 2019. We took the seedlings from two nodes through manifolding (topping to have eight equally distant main branches from the stem). We greatly increased our nutrient mixture and wrote exactly what we did.


In This Installment

The issues found with #3 from the first node on became the determining factor for moving it to the location that #5 is being grown outside, and continuing to top #1, #2 and #4 to build the canopy in the tent. We have cloned #1 to be a mother plant later on.

#3 Had even more issues outside, having a large portion eaten by (most likely) snails and slugs. Measures have been taken (diatomaceous earth, which creates tiny tears in smaller creatures, but is completely harmless to large plants and humans) and it has started to grow once more but we are quickly running out of summer.

#5 was topped once August 8, 2019. We thought of topping one more time, but with the stretching it has done outside and the limited amount of vegetative time left, we decided against it.


Photo Recap


Gelato Seedlings

June 19, 2019 All indoor hydro seedlings germinated


Gelato Seedlings


Gelato #5 Seedling


July 3, 2019 All seedlings past two nodes


Gelato Topped


Gelato #5


July 17, 2019 #1-#4 topped and manifold started. #5 doing well outside.


Gelato Topped


Gelato #5


July 26, 2019 #1, #2, and #4 recovering well from the manifold. #3 still showing problems inside. #5 doing very well.


August 1, 2019

We ended the last installment on July 29, and between then and August 1 we changed the water out with the following nutrients in each 1-gallon bucket:

  • Micro : 10 ml
  • Grow : 10 ml
  • Bloom : 5 ml

We also trimmed (now a daily thing) all the bigger leaves from above the new growth and any leaves beneath the canopy that will not get enough light. Your canopy in a tent should be a few inches thick and spread out to use as much of the light at the same height as possible. Trim any excess and tie down any tall branches to keep your canopy a nice, even layer.


Gelato #1


Gelato #1

It has gotten quite obvious where the pruning accident occurred. One of the growth tips that was meant to be a part of the manifold process was accidentally snipped off while defoliating, as you can see in the bottom right corner of the above picture.

Later on, we work on evening this out by further training.


Gelato #2


Gelato #2

This plant took manifolding very well and continues to grow very evenly.

It still occasionally shows symptoms of a minor calcium deficiency, but not nearly as much as #3 did.


Gelato #3


Gelato #3

The genetic issue we had noticed as soon as this plant was germinated was ignored to show exactly why being selective can save you time, effort and money.

Shortly after this photo (August 8), #3 gets transplanted to a pot next to #5 outside, where it actually starts showing much better growth after a slug problem.


Gelato #4


Gelato #4

This was the plant we manifolded a little different. Instead of taking the third node to two main branches and then each of those to their first and third nodes, we took node three and four and topped at their third node each to give the same eight tops.

The only thing that made this possible was the near nonexistence of stretching. The two nodes we chose were almost at the same level. Otherwise, it would take too much time training to make the canopy even, as the higher node would grow much faster than the lower.

As a bit of an experiment, it was very successful and took some stress from the second major topping.


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights

As you can see, we are keeping all four plants at a similar height and forcing them to grow wide. This allows the most efficient use of the grow light, and will give many colas per plant, where growing naturally would give one.


Gelato #5


Gelato #5


Gelato #5

The outdoor sibling to #1-#4, it has kept up almost exactly for the width of the others. There has been no trimming at all at this point and stretching it very dramatic outside.


August 2, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3

This plant continues to have dry, discoloured leaves until it moves outside.


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 3, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


August 4, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 5, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 6, 2019


Gelato #1 and #2


Gelato #1 and #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 7, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 8, 2019

Today is the day that #3 gets transplanted outside with #5. It’s taking up valuable room in the tent and we now have a clone of #1 and don’t want more than the legal limit of 4 plants.

#5 was topped once, then pruned a few times later.

The three indoor plants that remain had their water changed. The per gallon amount of nutrients used were as follows:

  • Micro : 10 ml
  • Grow : 10 ml
  • Bloom : 5 ml

Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2

You may notice some leaves pointing the wrong way. This happens during LST (low-stress training) after tying down branches, until the leaves start to point back toward the light.


Gelato #3 Roots


Gelato #3 Roots Before Transplant

We gently extracted the plant from the hydroton, and weaved the roots through the net basket to save as much as possible.

Then we placed the plant upright in a bucket for transport and carefully moved it to its new home.


Gelato #3 Outside


Gelato #3 Transplanted to Outdoor Soil


Gelato #3


Gelato #3 After Transplant


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights

The new configuration of the tent with #3 moved out gives room for the remaining three to be side-by-side under the light. This should be more than enough until I plug the second one in for flowering in about six to seven weeks.


Gelato #5


Gelato #5 Before Topping


Gelato #5


Gelato #5 Before Topping


August 9, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 10, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 11, 2019

The three remaining one-gallon buckets had their water changed out with the following amounts of nutrients:

  • Micro : 10 ml
  • Grow : 10 ml
  • Bloom : 5 ml

Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2

This plant had a pretty rigorous pruning session today to uncover all the new growth underneath.


Gelato #4


Gelato #4

This plant also had quite a few leaves removed to allow for light to reach the young leaves under the larger top ones.


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 12, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 13, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 14, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3

Six days after transplanting, we went back to check on #3 and #5 and found that #3 was heavily damaged by slugs and snails (most likely). This damage caused new growth to pop up quickly, and three very nice new tops to take dominance.


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


Gelato #5


Gelato #5

This picture was taken six days after #5 was topped. It barely slowed down at all. Gelato is a very strong strain.


Gelato #5


Gelato #5 Height


August 16, 2019

We had gone camping for the night, so August 15 was missed for pictures and pruning.


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


Gelato #1 Clone


Gelato #1 Clone

This is the clone that was done in the article How to Clone a Marijuana Plant. It is coming along very nicely and we will be using it as a Gelato mother plant for clones later on.


August 17, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 18, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 19, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 20, 2019

It was water change day for the indoor plants. The following was added to each 4-litre (1-gallon) bucket:

  • Micro: 10 ml
  • Grow: 10 ml
  • Bloom: 5 ml

Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 21, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3

After the genetic problems from the start and now being almost completely eaten, three nice tops seem to be growing outside in soil. We will see how it goes from here.


Gelato #3


Gelato #3 Height


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato #5


Gelato #5

It has become difficult to take a good picture of the top of #5 because it has gotten to around 7 feet with the old table that it is sitting on. We will do our best to get pictures from here on.


Gelato #5


Gelato #5 Height


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


Gelato Clone


Gelato #6 (Clone of Gelato #1)

This is the clone we created in How to Clone a Marijuana Plant. We used #1 to make this clone and we will be growing it out to provide us with Gelato clones in the future.


Gelato #6


Gelato #6 Height


August 22, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2

#2 has been tied down once again, as the tips of most of the tops that were created by manifolding were poking above the level we want to keep as a canopy and the width of this plant has not kept up with the other two. This is also the reason that it has remained under the most direct light.

Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Clone


Gelato #6


August 23, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights

Gelato #6 has been transplanted into its semi-permanent pot.

August 24, 2019

Water change was done today for the hydro plants. The following was added per gallon:

  • Micro: 10 ml
  • Grow: 10 ml
  • Bloom: 5 ml

Every water change day is also a big pruning day, since I put the buckets up on a counter while cleaning and filling the spare bucket. This makes it much easier to reach the leaves under the canopy that will not get any light and are wasting energy the plant could be using elsewhere.


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 25, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato #6


Gelato #6


Gelato #6


Gelato #6 Height


Gelato Heights

Indoor Gelato Heights


August 26, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 27, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 28, 2019

Today, #3 gets all the mostly eaten leaves trimmed off and the new tops are free to grow.

Diatomaceous earth is reapplied to #3 and #5 to be safe.


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #3


Gelato #3 Height

After struggling to grow in the hydro setups, having an odd swirly leaf growth, being transplanted very late and almost entirely eaten, it seems soil outside is doing quite well for this plant.


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato #5


Gelato #5


Gelato #5


Gelato #5 Height


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 29, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato #6


Gelato #6


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 30, 2019


Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato #6


Gelato #6


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


August 31, 2019

Now we come to the last day of our fourth installment of the Gelato photo grow journal review. It is also a very important day when it comes to the nutrients the plants are getting.

During the water changes today, we increased the nutrients that the plants get to the following amounts per gallon:

  • Micro: 12 ml
  • Grow: 12 ml
  • Bloom 8 ml

Gelato #1


Gelato #1


Gelato #2


Gelato #2


Gelato #4


Gelato #4


Gelato #6


Gelato #6


Gelato Heights


Indoor Gelato Heights


Conclusion

August has been a relatively good month for these plants except for #3. We will be allowing one more month of veg growth, then setting up the second tent for the mother plant, adding our second 1000w LED light, carbon filter and the intake fan that matches the exhaust (to help with the filter restriction).


To buy Gelato seeds (feminized), CLICK HERE and use Promo Code: FIRST10!


Thank you for reading and Happy Gardening!